Dr. Edward Yi Chang

Senior Vice President
National Chiao Tung University


  • B.S., Department of Material Science and Engineering, National Tsing Hua University, Hsinchu, Taiwan(1973-1977)   
  • Ph.D., Materials Science and Engineering, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, MN (1979-1986)  


  • Dean of International College of Semiconductor Technology (2014-present)   
  • Professor, Department of Material Science and Engineering, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan (1999- Present)   
  • Chairman, Department of Material Science and Engineering, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan (2003-2007)   
  • Member of technical staff, COMSAT Laboratory, USA(1988-1990)   
  • General Manager, Hexawave Inc, Taiwan (1997-1999)   


Dr. Chang is a professor of Materials Science and Electronics Engineering at National Chiao Tung University (NCTU). He received his BA. from National Tsing-Hua University in 1977 and his Ph.D. from University of Minnesota in 1985 both in materials science. Before joining NCTU, he worked at Unisys Corporation GaAs Component Group (1985-1988), and Comsat Labs Microelectronic Group (1988-1992), where he made substantial and original contribution to the development of GaAs MESFET and PHEMT MMIC. After returning to Taiwan, he founded the first Taiwan GaAs components company, Hexawave Inc, in 1992, and became president of the company in 1997. 

Dr. Chang’s research focus on new device and process technologies in Compound Semiconductor for high frequency and high power applications, Currently, his research field includes InP, GaAs based compound materials and devices for wireless communication and up to sub TeraHertz applications, GaN-based materials for power electronic applications. He is currently Vice President of NCTU. He has received many honors from the academic society including distinguished research award from NSC Taiwan, Fellow of Taiwan Materials Science Society, Fellow of IEEE, and “Outstanding contribution to Industry Awards” from Ministry of Economic Affairs, R.O.C.
Dr. Chang is IEEE Fellow, Taiwan Materials Society Fellow and DL (Distinguished Lecturer) of the IEEE Electronic Device Society; he has published more than 190 papers, and has over 70 patents.

Share page with AddThis